Barley, Lentil and Mushroom Soup

For lunch this week I wanted to make a healthy and hearty soup to offset my Sunday Dinner meal. I was looking for a soup that would be warming and filling and this definitely did the trick! The original recipe calls for beef broth, but I used vegetable stock to keep the dig vegetarian. You can use what you have available, this is a pretty adaptable recipe.

20111205-072835.jpg

First, I got together all of my I ingredients so they would be on hand. I heated my 9 quart Dutch oven and added 1/2 a cup of olive oil. Once the oil started to ripple I adde my 4 cups of mushrooms. I used both button and baby bella mushrooms.

20111205-073120.jpg

Next I stirred in my onion, celery and carrot mixture letting it cook until fragrant, about 3 minutes. Then I poured in 3/4 cup each of pearl barley and red lentils. I used red because I has them leftover from a previous dish, but you can use whatever color you prefer. I let the barley and lentils toast in the pan for a few minutes.

20111205-073429.jpg

Next I stirred in a cup of mixed greens (mustard, turnip and collards) you can use whatever green you like best, kale or chard would also work or any combination. I then added a can of diced tomatoes. This an had Rosemary and oregano in it, but plain or fire roasted would work too.

20111205-073835.jpg

After this I added 3 quarts of stock, thyme, parsley, cumin, cayenne and black pepper. Gave it a little taste and added salt as needed. I brought the pot to a boil and then turned it down to a simmer and covered for 30 or so minutes.

20111205-074116.jpg

20111205-074143.jpg

After half an hour I took the lid off and tasted the soup. I use low sodium broth so I can control the salt in the dish better. It did need a sprinkle more and then I added in a few splashes of sherry. I let it cook for a about another 5 minutes and then served hot with some grated Parmesan over the top.

20111205-074559.jpg

20111205-074637.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Soups and stews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

