Barley, Lentil and Mushroom Soup Recipe

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 4 cups button and / or baby bella mushrooms
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 3/4 cup pearl barley
  • 3/4 cup dry brown lentils
  • 1 14 oz. can diced tomatoes
  • 3 quarts low-sodium beef broth
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne (or as desired)
  • 1 tablespoon dry sherry

Heat the olive oil in a large dutch oven or stock pot. Saute mushrooms for a few minutes, then add onion, carrot and celery and cook until fragrant (3-5 minutes). Stir in the barley and lentils, let them toast in the pot for a few minutes before adding a cup of greens.

Stir in the broth, tomatoes, thyme, black pepper, cumin and cayenne. Bring the pot to a boil and then lower it to a simmer and cover, cooking for 30 minutes. Add in the sherry and let simmer for another 5 minutes. Serve hot with crusty bread.

20111204-214738.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

