Lasagna Rolls

Tonight we were in the mood for some Italian. One of my favorite Italian style dishes to make is lasagna rolls. These are lasagna noodles rolled up with filling and baked in sauce. This is a great way to get rid of the few leftover lasagna noodles in your cupboard from your last big potluck.

Preheat your oven to 350.

Bring some salted water to a rolling boil. While the oven heats up cut up an onion and some baby bella mushrooms. Heat up some olive oil in a high rimmed frying pan or a sauce pan. Add some cracked black pepper, salt and a red pepper flakes as desired. Once hot add the onions and sauté for a minute or two, then add the mushrooms. Cook for another few minutes then add a jar of sauce.

I sauté my own vegetables so i prefer a smooth tomato sauce like a roasted garlic tomato sauce. (If you don’t want to sauté your own veggies, just heat a jar of your favorite sauce in a pan instead.) This time we went with organic vodka sauce. I poured that in, then added a cup of water to the jar shook it to get all the sauce out and poured than in the pan as well. I simmered the sauce on low.

20111201-213208.jpg

While the sauce simmered I cooked my noodles as directed on the package and made my filling. For the filling, thaw a small package of frozen chopped spinach and squeeze the water out before adding to a bowl. Add 1 cup ricotta cheese, 1/2 cup grated Parmesan and 1 beaten egg to the bowl with the spinach. Stir to combine.

20111201-213949.jpg

Once your noodles are done drain them and run under cold water to halt the cooking process. I usually cook about 8-9 noodles in case a few rip, but make 6 rolls for a 9×13″ pan. Spoon mixture onto a noodle spreading it down until 1″ of noodle remains.

20111201-214423.jpg

Roll each noodle towards the side that you left the space on, as you roll the filling will move to fill the gap. Add each rolled up noodle with filling, seam side down into to the baking pan. I usually add some sauce to the bottom of the pan first before adding the rolled noodles.

20111201-215425.jpg

Add sauce to the top of the noodles and around the sides. Sprinkle a handful of mozzarella cheese to the top of each roll, probably about 2 cups total.

20111201-215633.jpg

20111201-215701.jpg

Cover and bake in the oven for 15 minutes. Remove foil and bake for another 15 minutes or until cheese is beginning to brown. Remove from oven, cool and serve.

20111201-220238.jpg

I like mine with a little extra Parmesan cheese and some sauce on top!

20111201-220459.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Creative Casseroles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lasagna Rolls

  1. sarahhnelson says:

    OMG these look SO good! When are you inviting us over for dinner!

Leave a Reply

