Quinoa Cakes

Last night I made quinoa (pronounced keen-wah) for the first time in anticipation of trying out a recipe for quinoa cakes. I made sure to keep everything in my quinoa diced small so my leftovers would work for these cakes. Too large of a chop on the veggies and these would fall apart. You don’t have to use quinoa from a separate dish this would work great with plain cooked quinoa too, but I liked the added flavor of the herbs and pepper from my Herbed Quinoa dish from yesterday.

I took out my reserved quinoa from yesterday’s dish and added 4 beaten eggs, goat cheese, crushed garlic, a little minced onion, scallions, Italian bread crumbs and a little salt and pepper. I stirred it up and put it in the fridge for about 15 minutes to tighten up the mixture.

20111128-210329.jpg

I then took my mixture out of the fridge and heated a skillet with some cooking spray. I used my hands to form individual patties and cooked them 4 at a time. Covering between flipping, about 8 minutes per side or until golden brown.

20111128-210558.jpg

20111128-210619.jpg

Once the cakes were done I removed them from the heat and did my second batch. This can make 8 large cakes or 12 small. I served mine with a light pesto cream sauce, but these could work well with a wide variety of sauces. The cakes were very tasty and very versatile. It would be easy to change up the cheese or add different (finely chopped) veggies.

20111128-210920.jpg

20111128-210934.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

