Herbed Quinoa Recipe

2 tablespoon butter
1 cup uncooked quinoa
2 cups vegetable broth
1 small onion, finely chopped
2 teaspoons chopped garlic
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
1/2 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme
1 small red pepper, finely chopped
Salt to taste
1 dash fresh lemon juice (optional)

Heat butter in a saucepan over medium heat, add onion and garlic sauteing until onion is translucent. Add quinoa and toast for 5 minutes. (Make sure if using organic or quinoa that does not say pre-rinsed that you throughly rinse it before cooking. Quinoa has a bitter coating on it that can ruin a dish unless washed off first.) Add 2 cups vegetable broth, let come to a boil before turning to down the heat to a simmer. Cover and cook about 20 minutes or until liquid is completely absorbed.

Once quinoa is cooked and the liqiud is pretty much gone, add in the chopped thyme, parsley and bell pepper. Let cook for another minute or so and add salt to taste as needed. At the very end sqeeze a little bit of lemon juice into the dish and serve hot.

20111127-214709.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Herbed Quinoa Recipe

  1. Pingback: Quinoa Cakes | Sunday Dinner and then Some

Leave a Reply

