Breakfast Panini

I often find that when I make paninis for dinner that my bread goes stale before I can use it all. I typically get bakery panini bread, tuscan, rye or sourdough and while it is delicious it does not last too long in the bread box. Here is a great and filling breakfast dish to give you another meal to use up that left over bread.

This recipe is so adaptable, you can really use whatever you want. It is perfect for using up the veggies in your fridge, but still nice enough to serve to guests.

I generally start by chopping up the veggies for my scramble. In this case jalapeño, mushrooms and scallions.

20111127-151122.jpg

Then I add a little veggie oil to a skillet an heat it on medium low. I add some crushed garlic, my chopped veggies and a dash of salt, cooking until soft. Then I sprinkled in some bacon bits and herbed feta cheese.

In a separate bowl I beat 2 eggs with 1 tbs half and half and some fresh cracked pepper. I add this to the veggie mixture in the skillet and stir a little before letting the mixture set. Then I flip it and let it cook on the other side.

20111127-152541.jpg

On a plate lay out 2 pieces of panini bread. Add some shredded cheese to one piece. Take the cooked egg mixture from the skillet and put it on top of the cheese. Sprinkle a little more cheese on top and then top with 2nd slice of bread.

20111127-152823.jpg

At this point you could drizzle some oil on the top of the bread and then put it oil side down in a dry skillet. I usually don’t bother with the oil and just toast in a skillet. This cuts out some fat, but of course with the oil on the bread it is much more tasty! Flip once browned and serve once the cheese is melted and both sides are light brown.

20111127-154813.jpg

20111127-154854.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Brunch and Breakfast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

