Thanksgiving Family Feast

This years Thanksgiving was a very successful. My brother David and his wife Laura hosted it at their home this year. The spread was vast and beautiful. Laura’s mom cooked a turkey to perfection, while she had prepared all the fixings. I was assigned some lighter tasks but these were both fun and easy to make. First an appetizer, I chose pesto, feta and artichoke dip and for dessert pumpkin cookies with sugar glaze.

20111125-074801.jpg

The dip was perfect because I could make it on Tuesday, it keeps well in the fridge and is a good accompaniment to veggies and pita chips.

20111125-075133.jpg

Take 2 packages of softened cream cheese and add to a food processor along with feta cheese, 3-4 marinated artichoke hearts and sour cream. Blend while pouring milk into the mixture until it reaches your desired texture. I like mine a little thick while still being dip-able.

20111125-075501.jpg

On Thanksgiving I cut up peppers and Persian cucumbers. I added baby carrots, everything bagel chips and garlic and herb pita chips as well. The platter was well received and not too filling before the big meal. I used low fat for the milk, cream cheese and sour cream so not too unhealthy compared to other dips.

20111125-080504.jpg

Next up, were the pumpkin cookies, which I made the morning of Thanksgiving. These are a cake like cookie with a delicious sugar glaze. They were pretty easy as far as assembly goes and they made a lot.

First add flour, baking powder, baking soda and pumpkin pie spice to a large bowl.

20111125-080734.jpg

Next cream together butter, sugar and brown sugar. Then mix in pumpkin purée, an egg, and vanilla extract. I used bourbon and vanilla extract from Trader Joe’s with very good results.

20111125-081027.jpg

After that add the dry ingredients to the wet in thirds, mixing until completely combined before adding the next third of the flour mixture.

20111125-081326.jpg

Next add the cookies 1 tablespoon at a time to a baking sheet. You may want to also have someone around to test your mix for any discrepancies. This person may also be bribed with the prospect of cookies to help you with your dishes.

20111125-081550.jpg

Once cookies are in the oven make your glaze. Confectioners sugar, milk and vanilla extract.

20111125-081751.jpg

Once the cookies are out of the oven and have had a few minutes to cool drizzle on the glaze and sprinkle with walnuts or pecans as desired.

20111125-081933.jpg

20111125-082108.jpg

All the food at our dinner was wonderful! This year I have been blessed with the friends and family in my life. I hope everyone had as lovely a holiday as I did this year.

20111125-082400.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Special Occasions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

