Greek Stuffed Peppers

After an amazingly fun weekend with a few friends from college, it was time to take Sunday to unwind. It was a lazy day, but after a food extravaganza this weekend I wanted something a little healthier for dinner. I had been researching some recipes and decided to try Greek Stuffed Peppers. I have made a different stuffed pepper dish before, but this one was really good!

First, I did my prep work. I diced an onion, small red pepper and a cup of button mushrooms. Opened and drained a small can of sliced black olives and chopped some mint.

20111120-191232.jpg

Next I added some olive oil to a pan. Added some garlic powder, onion powder and cayenne. I then sprinkled some salt and pepper onto the ground turkey and added it to the pan. I broke it into small sized crumbles in the pan and then removed it from heat and set aside in a bowl.

20111120-191950.jpg

Then I added some olive oil to a pan and sautéed the onion, mushroom and pepper. Once the veggies were soft I added black olives, tomato sauce, cooked brown rice and the ground turkey. I seasoned the mixture with dill and fresh mint. I let it simmer for a bit before stirring in the feta cheese and dropping the temp to low.

20111120-192607.jpg

At this time I cut the very tops of my green peppers off. Then took out the seeds and cleaned out the inside of the pepper. I put 4 on a plate, covered in plastic wrap and cooked in the microwave for 4 minutes.

20111120-193103.jpg

20111120-193144.jpg

I took the peppers from the microwave and dumped out any water that collected in the pepper. I then stuffed them with the turkey / rice mixture. I pushed the mixture into the pepper to make sure they were fully stuffed. I topped with tomato sauce and sprinkled on some feta with cracked black pepper. I put them in the oven at 350 and baked for 30 minutes.

20111120-193752.jpg

20111120-193818.jpg

20111120-193838.jpg

I served the peppers with a light Greek salad. This was delicious and filling, but left you feeling good after. A nutritious dinner to end a great weekend!

20111120-194213.jpg

20111120-194235.jpg

20111120-194250.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

