Mexican Dinner Fiesta

Last night two of my best friends flew in from Buffalo for a long weekend. As a warm welcome I thought, what would be more fun than a fiesta themed dinner? We all like mexican food and who doesn’t like a good margarita?! I planned this out ahead to try and make the dinner fun without being too time consuming.

First, I made black bean and corn soup the night before they came. Soups keep well in the fridge and honestly, I usually like them better the next day anyhow. This one was easy and delicious, not a bite was left in anyone’s bowl.

First, drain and rinse your black beans. I used 6 cans, 4 of which went immediately into my stock pot with a jar of chunky salsa and a cup of broth. I used my immersion blender to blend until smooth. After this I added the other 2 cans of beans, corn, more broth and seasoned to taste with some garlic, cumin, chili powder and cayenne. After this simmered for about 10 minutes I stirred in 2 tbs of chive cream cheese to give it a velvety texture.

The night of the dinner party I heated it up in the microwave for about 6-8 minutes and served with sour cream, hot sauce and scallions- yum!

20111118-091025.jpg

20111118-091053.jpg

20111118-091110.jpg

Next up was the chicken enchiladas. I even made a homemade sauce for this and it still was beyond easy and quick! First I had the boys shred the chicken, then I added it to a bowl with cheese, cumin and chili powder.

20111118-091317.jpg

Then I made my enchilada sauce. I heated some veggie oil in a sauce pan and sautéed half an onion with some flour. Next I added a good amount of chili powder, tomato sauce, onion powder, garlic powder, cumin and salt and pepper to taste. I let it simmer for 10 minutes and it was ready!

20111118-091557.jpg

Next I added about 1/2 a cup of the enchilada sauce to the bottom of a 9 x 13″ pan. I heated 4 corn tortillas as a time in a paper towel in the microwave. Added a palm full of the chicken mixture in each one, rolled it up and put it seam side down in the pan. Once I had rolled all the tortillas I topped them with the sauce and more shredded cheese. I popped it in the oven and baked for 20 minutes.

20111118-092023.jpg

20111118-092042.jpg

20111118-092103.jpg

20111118-092125.jpg

While the enchiladas cooked I made the dressing for my salad. This was delicious and so easy. Just throw all the ingredients in a blender or food processor and you are done. This was a cilantro lime dressing that I just added to a lettuce blend with some feta cheese simple but delicious. The dressing was olive oil, cilantro, garlic, lime juice, honey and jalapeño.

20111118-092500.jpg

After the dressing was done and my timer went off it was time to eat! Everyone cleaned their plates and it was great to all sit together and have a nice meal to catch up. This was easy, quick and delicious. I would make all these dishes again in a heartbeat!

20111118-092807.jpg

20111118-092828.jpg

20111118-093202.jpg

20111118-093246.jpg

20111118-093321.jpg

20111118-093339.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Creative Casseroles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

