Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas Recipe

1 rotisserie chicken, shredded
3 cups divided Mexican cheese blend
1 tbs cumin
1 tsp chili powder
12 6″ corn tortillas
Enchilada sauce

Enchilada sauce:

1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 tsp flour
1/2 diced yellow onion
3 tbs chili powder
2 eight oz cans tomato sauce
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
1 cup water

Preheat oven to 350.

Shred the chicken and add it to a bowl with 2 cups cheese, cumin and chili powder and stir until combined.

Next make your enchilada sauce. Heat the oil in a sauce pan and add onions and then flour, sauté until the onions are translucent. Add the chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, tomato sauce and water. Let simmer for about 10 minutes then salt and pepper to taste.

Add 1/2 cup of enchilada sauce to the bottom of a 9 x 13″ baking pan. Heat tortillas 4 at a time in a paper towel in the microwave to make them more pliable, about 30 seconds. Roll a palm full (3 tbs) of the chicken cheese mixture in the tortilla and place seam side down in the pan. Repeat until all 12 tortillas are filled and in the pan. Top with remaining sauce and a cup or so of cheese. Bake for 20 minutes.

20111118-085843.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

