Pumpkin Poblano Soup with Roasted Corn Recipe

4 tbs. Butter
1 good sized poblano pepper, diced
3 tbs. Flour
2 cups 2% milk (or whole if you prefer)
1 14 oz. Can pumpkin purée
1/3 cup mild cheese blend, I used mozzarella, cheddar and jack blend
1 cup roasted corn
A sprinkle of cayenne
A pinch if nutmeg

Begin by dicing your poblano and melting your butter in a stock pot or high rimmed frying pan. While the butter melts try a piece of the pepper. Poblanos are usually a milder pepper but once in a while you can get a pretty spicy one and may want to put less in the dish based on your tastes. Once the butter melts add pepper and sauté for a few minutes. Sprinkle in the flour and stir constantly for a minute or two, this is your roux which will make the soup velvety and delicious.

Next add the milk stirring constantly until it has thickened, probably about 5-10 mins. Once it is the consistency of a cream sauce add in the pumpkin purée, stirring until fully incorporated. Then stir in the corn and cheese. Season with salt and pepper to taste and put in a sprinkle of cayenne and a pinch of nutmeg and you are ready to eat. I garnished mine with some pepper and cheese and it was delicious.

20111116-074627.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment