Fall Wine Fest

What better way to kick off the Wine of the Week section than with a post regarding the Fall Wine Fest I attended in Back Bay yesterday at Cyclorama. It was a big event with what I estimated to be about 300+ people in attendance. Beyond having many different wines they also had a cheese tasting section, a Lia Sophia jewelry booth, Finale dessert table and a Pop Chips station among other vendors. Here is a picture of the layout to give you an idea.

20111106-083347.jpg

Upon entering the venue we received a passport detailing all booths and wine offerings and a necklace of “fall fest” beads, read mardi gras beads. We filled out a card for a raffle and off we went. At first we had a plan of just trying to go around the circle of booths to get all of them in, which we realized wouldn’t work due to line sizes after about our third tasting. So then we just decided to do countries that looked good or had shorter lines.

20111106-084021.jpg

Here is a picture of Sean in the venue before everyone made it in. One of our first tastings turned out to be our favorite. La Belle winery, located in Amherst NH, had a good selection at the event. If you like fruitier wines this was your booth, they had excellent cranberry wine and raspberry ice wine. However, their Seyval Blanc really shined in my eyes. A little on the sweet side but with a nice finish. Slightly reminiscent of something you would pick up in the Finger Lakes region in NY. The Seyval came in third in tasting for the day.

20111106-084538.jpg

After that we tried some unique South African wine and then it was off to France where the runner up was for best wine of the day. The French booth had a few options but the one we really enjoyed was the Arrogant Frog Pinot Noir. This was a light red with fruity notes it had a good finish that wasn’t too dry. I don’t like really dry reds so this was perfect for my tastes.

20111106-084945.jpg

From here we headed over to the Yancy’s Fancy cheese booth, one of Sean’s favorites for the day. They had a selection of 7 cheeses ranging from mild to sharp to spicy. All of them were very good, but we particularly enjoyed the jalapeño peppadew. It was spicy with great flavor and simply delicious on its own. The runner up was buffalo cheese which would be delicious in a Mac and cheese or grilled cheese.

20111106-085406.jpg

Right by the cheese booth was our next stop and location of the favorite wine for the day, the Charles Krug Cabernet Sauvignon. Normally I am not a Cab girl, it can be dry and have notes that don’t sit well with my palate, but this was silky and had a great finish. It was definitely not too dry and would pair deliciously with red meat or dessert. Both Sean and I agreed it was the proclaimed winner for the day.

20111106-085822.jpg

All in all the event was a lot of fun and successful in my eyes. The lines were a bit long but that was good to prevent from drinking too much and too quick. They had a nice variety if wines and the booths would let you taste two wines if more than one peaked your interest. I will probably attend this again next year, it was worth the money and fun to try wines I may not have normally had.

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Wine of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

