Cheesy Ham, Broccoli and Potato Casserole

Tonight I was on a mission to use up a bag of broccoli that had been taking up space in my freezer. I came across this recipe that seemed easy and to have a lot of things I liked: cheese, ham, broccoli, hash browns, mushrooms and onion… Not much more I could ask for! Granted I read a bunch of reviews and changed this to suit my tastes. You can just as easily add or omit things to your liking.

First, I added frozen hash browns to the bottom of a 9″ x 13″, topped with chopped onion and garlic powder and baked in the oven at 375 for 30 minutes.

20111030-192219.jpg

After that I removed the pan from the oven and layered on thawed broccoli, diced ham and the mushroom soup mixture. I then topped it off with grated parmesan cheese and popped it back in the oven for another 40 minutes.

20111030-193818.jpg

20111030-193831.jpg

20111030-193844.jpg

When I pulled the casserole out of the oven it was golden and bubbly. It was delicious and should make good leftovers for the workweek ahead. There weren’t any changes that I would make. It was pretty saucy though so if you like your caseroles a little less wet, just add 1 and a half cans on the mushroom soup instead of 2.

20111030-202514.jpg

20111030-202528.jpg

20111030-202546.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Creative Casseroles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cheesy Ham, Broccoli and Potato Casserole

  1. Kara says:

    This recipe looks simple to make and delicious. I love your blog so far – keep it up!!

  2. CAITLIN says:

    is there a vegetarian version of this meal? i really like cheese (NO RENNET)

    • annsley423 says:

      You can definitely make this in a vegetarian version, simply omit the ham! With one ingredient missing you could just add more of another like mushrooms. Cubed portobellas would work well in place of ham because they are a “meatier” veggie. If you really like cheese, you could use a cheddar broccoli soup instead of cream of mushroom. This recipe really adapts well to personal flavors. I will be adding more vegetarian dishes to the blog too so keep your eyes peeled for ones that you may like. 🙂

Leave a Reply

